GMCT Most Valuable Players

Welcome to the GMCT Most Valuable Players page of the GMC Hoops web site. Listed here are all the players honored as MVP in the history of the Greater Middlesex Conference Tournament over the last 23 years.

Year MVP School
2000-01 Justin Chiera Colonia
2001-02 Omar Alston Carteret
2002-03 Mika Wilson Cardinal McCarrick
2003-04 Marquis Jones South Plainfield
2004-05 Darren Smith South Plainfield
2005-06 Jeff Totin Colonia
2006-07 Vince Rosario Cardinal McCarrick
2007-08 Mike Burwell Cardinal McCarrick
2008-09 Tristian Benjamin Piscataway
2009-10 Steve Rennard St. Joseph’s
2010-11 Quenton DeCosey St. Joseph’s
2011-12 Quenton DeCosey St. Joseph’s
2012-13 Karl Anthony Towns St. Joseph’s
2013-14 Marques Townes St. Joseph’s
2014-15 J.J. Corbett Colonia
2015-16 Alanzo Frink St. Joseph’s
2016-17 Letrell West St. Joseph’s
2017-18 K-Shawn Schulters St. Joseph’s
2018-19 Tyree Ford St. Joseph’s
2019-20 Quadry Adams St. Thomas Aquinas
2020-21* Ruben Reyes Colonia
2021-22 Adam Silas St. Thomas Aquinas
2022-23 Michael “Deuce” Jones St. Thomas Aquinas

*There was no GMCT in 2020-21 due to the COVID pandemic. However, there was the Karl Anthony Towns-Jay Williams Pod, which matched up the top four boys basketball teams in the GMC that season. Colonia defeated St. Thomas Aquinas in the Championship and Ruben Reyes was selected MVP.